We Compared 6 Collagen Powders Sold In Australia On Dose, Price Per 10 g, Additives And Origin. Here Is The Ranking.
Six products, the nutrition panels laid side by side, and every figure taken from the brand's own Australian website. We scored them on four things you can check yourself: how much collagen is actually in a serve, what it costs per 10 g of collagen, what else is in the tub, and whether the origin is stated. Gelpro publishes this page and makes the product that came first. The scoring is below so you can argue with it.
H
The Health Review EditorialReviewed October 2026 · Sponsored by Gelpro Australia · All figures from each brand's own Australian website
fXin✉
The aisle. Two tubs, the same promise, forty dollars apart. Nobody can read the back.
If you have ever stood in the supplement aisle, or scrolled past the fourth collagen ad of the morning, you know the problem. Every tub says "hydrolysed peptides", every tub has a glowing woman on it, and the prices run from $25 to $90 with no obvious reason why.
So we did the boring thing. We took six of the most searched collagen powders in Australia, put the panels and prices next to each other, and worked out what you actually get for your money.
Disclosure. This is sponsored content published by Gelpro Australia, which makes Peptipro, the product ranked first. Competitor figures were taken from each brand's own Australian website in October 2026 and are listed with the calculations below. A supporting comparison sheet with sources is available on request. Prices change; check before you buy.
How we ranked them
Each product was scored 0 to 3 on four criteria. Collagen per serve counts double, because it is the one that decides whether a daily scoop reaches the amount used in the research. Maximum score is 15.
Collagen per serve (x2) 3 points for 14 g or more, 2 for 10 to 13.9 g, 1 for 5 to 9.9 g, 0 under 5 g. Studies on joints and skin used about 10 g a day.
Cost per 10 g of collagen Price divided by serves, divided by collagen per serve, scaled to 10 g. 3 points under $1.25, 2 for $1.25 to $1.60, 1 for $1.61 to $2.10, 0 above. Standardised so a small scoop cannot hide a high price.
What else is in it 3 points for collagen only, 2 for added vitamins or actives with no sweeteners, 1 for sweeteners or flavours, 0 for sugar.
Origin stated 3 points for a named country of origin on the label or product page, 1 for "grass-fed" or "bovine" with no country, 0 for nothing.
Peptipro 14 · Nutraviva 13 · The Collagen Co. 10 · Vital Proteins 9 · Nutra Naturals 8 · Gummies 0. Working shown in the side-by-side table.
What one "serve" looks like from each tub. The difference is not subtle.
1. Reading the tub size, not the serve A 400 g tub with a 5 g scoop is 80 small serves. A 500 g tin with a 15 g scoop is 33 real ones. Only the second number matters.
2. Buying gummies, sachets or capsules Convenient, and almost always 2 to 5 g. The research used 10 g or more.
3. Paying for flavour "Vanilla" or "berry" means sweeteners, flavours and anti-caking agents sharing the scoop with the collagen. Unflavoured is the whole product.
4. Not checking where the cattle are "Grass-fed" with no country named tells you nothing about origin. If it is Australian, the label usually says so.
5. Judging it at week three Connective tissue turns over slowly. Twelve weeks of daily use is the honest test. Nails usually tell you first.
The ranking
#1 · 14 / 15
Gelpro Peptipro Original Hydrolysed Collagen
500 g tin · $69 · 33 serves · gelatinaustralia.com.au
14.6 gper serve
$1.43per 10 g collagen
1ingredient
AUSorigin stated
Pros
14.6 g collagen protein per serve (97% protein), second highest of the six
Nothing else in the tin. No sweeteners, flavours or anti-caking agents
100% Australian grass-fed and finished, says so on the label
Certified FODMAP friendly by Monash University
Tasteless, dissolves clear in hot or cold
4.96 from 1,849 reviews
Cons
Only sold online
Not the cheapest per 10 g; Nutraviva beats it on price
Scoop handle is short (customers mention it)
Verdict: Top score on dose, additives and origin, and second on price per 10 g. The only product here that clears 14 g in one scoop with nothing else in the tin and a named Australian origin. If you want one scoop a day that covers joints, recovery, gut and hair and nails, this is the one. Gelpro makes it, and we have said so above.
Ships Australia-wide · Free AU shipping over $149 · PayPal, Apple Pay, Shop Pay
Also in 1 kg and bulk bundles
#2 · 13 / 15
Nutraviva Australian Collagen Hydrolysate
400 g pouch · $44.54 · 40 serves
10 gper serve
$1.11per 10 g collagen
1ingredient
AUSorigin stated
Pros
Cheapest per 10 g of collagen in the line-up
100% Australian sourced and made, no additives
Halal option available
Cons
Serve is a 10 g tablespoon, about a third less than #1
The brand's own page says it has "a slightly stronger taste and aroma" than its imported range
Pouch, not tin
Verdict: A very close second and the value pick. Australian, one ingredient, and the lowest price per gram here. It lost to #1 on serve size only: 10 g a scoop versus 14.6 g. If you are happy with a 10 g serve and do not mind the taste note, it is a strong choice.
#3 · 10 / 15
The Collagen Co. Unflavoured Collagen Powder
420 g tin · $79 · 28 serves
15 gper serve
$1.88per 10 g collagen
4actives
N/Sorigin
Pros
Highest collagen per serve of the six at 15 g
Unflavoured, no sweeteners
Adds vitamin C, hyaluronic acid and biotin
Big brand, easy to find
Cons
Highest cost per serve of the five priced products at $2.82, and $1.88 per 10 g of collagen
"Grass-fed, pasture-raised bovine" but no country of origin stated on the product page
Collagen shares the scoop with added actives
Verdict: The biggest serve in the line-up and a clean unflavoured formula. You pay for it: $2.82 a serve is 35% more than Peptipro's $2.09 ($79 over 28 serves versus $69 over 33), and the origin is not named.
#4 · 9 / 15
Vital Proteins Collagen Peptides
284 g tub · RRP $48 (often discounted) · 28 serves
10 gper serve
$1.71per 10 g at RRP
1ingredient
N/Sorigin
Pros
One of the biggest collagen brands in the world, stocked at most chemists
Unflavoured version is one ingredient
Frequently discounted below RRP, which improves its price score
Cons
10 g per serve, the brand's own headline number
Country of origin not stated on the Australian retail listings we checked
Flavoured versions carry sweeteners and flavours
Verdict: A respectable one-ingredient product with a smaller serve. Scored at RRP ($48 for 284 g); at a chemist discount it can be the cheapest per gram here, so check the shelf price.
#5 · 8 / 15
Nutra Naturals Collagen Beauty Unflavoured
225 g · $43.95 · 18.5 serves
11.7 gper serve
$2.03per 10 g collagen
3actives
N/Sorigin
Pros
Adds vitamin C and zinc, which help collagen formation
Widely stocked in retail
Unflavoured option
Cons
11.7 g collagen in a 12 g scoop, so a smaller serve than #1 or #3
$2.38 a serve and $2.03 per 10 g of collagen, the highest per gram of the five priced products
Country of origin not stated on the product page
Verdict: A well-made beauty collagen with useful added vitamin C and zinc. It ranks here on price per gram and an unstated origin, not on quality. If skin is your main goal and you want the vitamins built in, it is a reasonable pick.
#6 · 0 / 15
Supermarket collagen gummies (any brand)
Typically 60 gummies · $25 to $35
2 to 5 gper serve
$2 to $5per 10 g collagen
8+ingredients
N/Sorigin
Pros
They taste like lollies
Easy to remember
Cons
2 to 5 g of collagen, a fraction of the dose used in research
Sugar, pectin, flavours, colours
You would need to eat the jar to match one scoop of #1
Verdict: Convenient, but a small serve of collagen with sugar and additives around it. If this is what you "tried collagen" with and felt nothing, the serve size is the likely reason.
$ / 10 g = price ÷ serves ÷ collagen per serve × 10. Prices, serve sizes and ingredient lists taken from each brand's own Australian website on 21 October 2026 (Vital Proteins: supplier RRP as listed by Australian pharmacies; retail prices vary from about $24 to $41). Gummies are a category estimate. Check current pricing before you buy.
Why #1 won
It came down to one scoop. Peptipro's 15 g serve is 14.6 g of collagen protein with nothing else in the tin, it names its Australian origin on the label, and it carries an independent certification you can look up (Monash FODMAP). Nutraviva ran it close and beats it on price per gram; Peptipro won because a single scoop gives you nearly 50% more collagen, which is the criterion we weighted highest.
The reviews back it. 4.96 out of 5 across 1,849 verified reviews on gelatinaustralia.com.au, with the same things repeated: hair and nails, digestion, and that it disappears into coffee.
★★★★★
Feeling great!
I have been using this product for approximately 2-3 years now and feel great on it! Keeps me full, hair and nails grow so much and can feel my joints no longer ache! Staple in my home.
Anne M.D. · Verified Gelpro customer
★★★★☆
Easy to use
Dissolves easily into hot and cold drinks without altering the flavour or texture. A scoop with a long handle would be better suited.
Mere · Verified Gelpro customer
Our pick: Peptipro Original Hydrolysed Collagen · 500 g
Ships Australia-wide · Free AU shipping over $149 · PayPal, Apple Pay, Shop Pay
Questions readers asked
Did Gelpro pay for this ranking?
Yes. This is sponsored content published by Gelpro Australia, which makes the #1 product. Every figure, source and calculation is shown above so you can check it yourself, and the scoring gave Nutraviva second place one point behind.
Is 10 g a serve really not enough?
It is not nothing. Most of the joint and skin research used 10 g or more a day for 8 to 12 weeks. A 10 g serve is the floor; 14 to 15 g gives you margin if you skip a day.
Bovine or marine?
Marine is Type I only and is popular for skin. Bovine gives Types I and III and is the one used in most joint and recovery research. For an all-rounder, bovine.
How long until I notice anything?
Give any of them twelve weeks of daily use before you judge. Nails usually show first.
Bottom line
Buy on the panel, not the packaging. Fourteen point six grams, one ingredient, a named Australian origin, about two dollars a day. Nothing else in the line-up scored higher on those four together.